I’d Rather Be Me Than You Right Now

I’ll admit to being nervous about this series before it started, but after sweeping the Colorado Rockies’ “Championship Weekend” I can say: At this moment, I’d rather be a Diamondbacks fan than a Rockies fan.

I’d rather have our offense. Rather have our defense. Rather have our starting pitching, our bullpen and, yes, even rather have our shortstop. I’d rather have our record, our manager, our ballpark and our weather; and I’d rather have fans who may get a little intense at times but at least know that if you’re going to boo then you boo the players who have hurt your chances with their bat instead of those who have hurt your feelings with their words.

And I know we had our nosed rubbed in it all weekend (trophy on Friday, banner on Saturday, rings on Sunday) and that Colorado was thinking we were wishing we were them, but I’d rather have our six year old World Series Championship banner than their brand spanking new 2nd place one because this is a new season when your accomplishments of last year fade with the first pitch and everyone starts asking “But what have you done for me lately?”


Yeah. I’d rather have our history than theirs; but more importantly, I’d rather have our present.

5 comments

  1. dhacks

    Propping up last year’s success at every opportunity is understandable in Colorado, given the team’s longstanding irrelevance. Before 2007, only Pittsburgh & Tampa Bay had longer stretches of sub .500 seasons. So I forgive them the three separate ceremonies.

    Let them be preoccupied with their hardware. They certainly played like it this wekend.

    Who is currently better is a fun debate, but the past is not a fair fight. We have 4 divisional titles in ten years. Their NL West flags during the last fifteen years? That would be zero.

    http://diamondhacks.blogspot.com/

  2. chicksdigthelongball

    Come on, Matt, aren’t you going to help me out with starting the trash talking early? 🙂

    You know, with all the talk about the “future” for both clubs, I have to say I am more than happy with the way ours looks right now, thank you very much. And I’m glad to be 5-1 right now instead of, cough, 1-5.

  3. byrnesblogger1

    I agree with you, Tracy. Even though we have some health challenges with RJ, DD, Chad & Miguel, I think we are in good shape to take the division again, which is more than Daron Sutton thinks. He picked the Rockies. 4-2 is not a bad way to start, although we should be 5-1. That homer by Encarnacion really hurt. Literally a second before he hit it, the Reds announcers were saying that he wasn’t clutch. Then, bang. I think the biggest question mark the D’Backs have now is whether Brandon Lyon will work out as a closer. I know they all blow one now and then, but after yesterday (4/6) I have got to wonder. Set up men don’t always translate into closers.

    ByrnesBlogger1

  4. chicksdigthelongball

    Hi, Kellia. That’s right, we’re 4-2. My psyche absolutely refuses to acknowledge that blown save in Cincinnati. Ouch. Suppose you were watching that game and asking yourself if Lyon is really ready to close. The answer wasn’t just “no”, but “HELL, NO”.

    I am a little worried about Lyon. I know it’s early, but early confidence can play a big role. At least we have a couple of guys who might be able to step into that spot if he continues to struggle. I just wonder how long Melvin will allow that to happen, if it does. Personally, I think Qualls may end up being the closer before the year is out, and might be the best pick up of the off season for us.

    Trevor Hoffman blew another save and lost again last night (that’s 2 for him so far this season). Maybe he’s still thinking about those 2 blown saves at the end of last season that cost the Padres a spot in the playoffs. If it can happen to him, it can surely happen to Brandon Lyon.

Leave a Reply

